Working...

Your Cart

  • Your cart is empty

Back


SCHEDULED CLASSES

Sign up for U.S. LawShield

Interested in a one-on-one class or a class for you and your significant other? Want to host a class in your home or business for a handful of your friends, family, and/or co-workers? Hosted classes are held at your location with between 1 and 20 students at a time we will agree upon based on availability and schedules of all involved. Head over to the Contact page and send us email with any questions.

How about a FREE class for you?

Host a class with at least 5 of your friends/family and get one seat free!


YOUR INSTRUCTOR (Jason Fincanon):

  • Texas DPS Certified License To Carry A Handgun Instructor
  • NRA Basic Pistol & First Steps Instructor
  • NRA Range Safety Officer

IMPORTANT STEPS OUTSIDE OF CLASS:

While attending a Texas LTC class is a major (and required) piece in obtaining your License To Carry, there are other steps involved. After taking the class, your LTC-100 Certificate of Training is valid for 2 years so if you do not get a chance to complete the following items before class, you will have plenty of time after:

WHAT TO EXPECT:

The classroom portion will run 4-6 hours as required by Texas DPS. During that time we will talk about the following major topics with discussion of related side topics as needed:

  1. Use Of Force
  2. Handgun Use
  3. Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
  4. Safe Storage

Following the class presentation and any discussion/Q&A, a written exam of 25 questions will be given. If range qualifications are included in your class, directions to the range will be given during class.

WHAT TO BRING FOR CLASS:

  • Current photo ID (preferably a Texas driver's license)
  • Pen and paper for notes

WHAT TO BRING FOR THE RANGE:

  • A handgun that is in good working condition (DON'T FORGET YOUR MAGAZINES!)
  • At least 50 rounds of factory ammunition (NO RELOADS)
  • Hearing protection (preferably electronic)
  • Eye protection (prescription glasses are ok)

WHAT TO WEAR:

Since the range is outdoors, please be sure to dress according to the weather. Additionally, remember to dress for proper range safety. Clothing should not have large openings, low neck lines, etc. Shoes should be comfortable and stable with closed toes (no high heels).

RANGE QUALIFICATION:

During the range qualification portion of class, a total of 50 rounds will be fired and a score of at least 70% (175 out of a possible 250) must be achieved.

You will be shooting at a standard 24" x 45" B-27 target (pictured to the right) and scoring is as follows:B-27 target

All shooting if done from the ready position (your firearm ready to fire on target as the instructor calls for you to fire). If the shooter/student encounters any malfunctions, they must work through them to complete the course of fire. The 50-round course of fire is as follows:

  • Shots within the 8 ring are worth 5 points
  • Shots within the 7 ring but outside the 8 ring are worth 4 points
  • Shots outside the 7 ring and still on the silhouette are worth 3 points
  • Shots outside the silhouette are worth 0 points
  • Rounds held (not fired) are counted as misses and are worth 0 points
  • Stage 1: Twenty shots will be fired from 3 yards
    • 5 shots fired in a “One Shot Exercise” (2 seconds per shot)
    • 10 shots fired in a “Two Shot Exercise” (3 seconds per two shot sequence)
    • 5 shots fired in 10 seconds
  • Stage 2: Twenty shots will be fired from 7 yards
    • 5 shots fired in 10 seconds
    • 5 shots in 2 stages
      • 2 shots fired in 4 seconds
      • 3 shots fired in 6 seconds
    • 5 shots fired in a “One Shot Exercise” (3 seconds allowed for each shot)
    • 5 shots fired in 15 seconds
  • Stage 3: Ten shots will be fired from 15 yards
    • 5 shots in 2 stages
      • 2 shots fired in 6 seconds
      • 3 shots fired in 9 seconds
    • 5 shots fired in 15 seconds

ELIGIBILITY:

It is NOT the responsibility of Four19 Defense, LLC or the instructor to determine if a student is eligible to obtain a Texas License To Carry A Handgun. While the following lists just some of the eligibility requirements, please visit the FAQs in the Handgun Licensing Section of the Texas DPS website for more informaiton.

From Texas Government Code, Sec. 411.172 (eligibility):
A person is eligible for a license to carry a handgun if the person:

  1. is a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date of application under this subchapter or is otherwise eligible for a license under Section 411.173(a);
  2. is at least 21 years of age;
  3. has not been convicted of a felony;
  4. is not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense, or of a felony under an information or indictment;
  5. is not a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense;
  6. is not a chemically dependent person;
  7. is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun;
  8. has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense;
  9. is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun;
  10. has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general;
  11. has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any agency or subdivision of the state;
  12. is not currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests;
  13. has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony; and
  14. has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174.

REFUNDS:

  • INELIGIBILITY - If, after paying for the Four19 Defense Texas LTC Class, a student discovers they are legally ineligible to obtain a Texas License To Carry A Handgun, no refund will be issued. As stated in the "Eligibility" section, it is NOT the responsibility of Four19 Defense, LLC or the instructor to determine if a student is eligible to obtain a Texas License To Carry A Handgun. Please refer to the Handgun Licensing Section of the Texas DPS website for requirements.
  • STUDENT NO-SHOW - No refunds will be issued to a student that does not show up for class.
  • STUDENT CANCELLATION - In order to allow time for Four19 Defense, LLC to fill the empty spot, cancellations may be made one week or more in advance of the student's scheduled class and a refund will be issued minus a $5 cancellation fee. If a student cancels within the one week before their scheduled class, a 50% refund will be issued.
  • FOUR19 DEFENSE CANCELLATION - In the rare case that a class needs to be canceled by Four19 Defense, LLC or the instructor, a full refund will be provided to each student that has paid for the canceled class.

RESCHEDULES:

Four19 Defense, LLC's Texas LTC classes require pre-registration and Four19 Defense, LLC reserves the right to cancel and/or reschedule any class based the number of pre-registered students. Attempts will be made to reschedule but in the case of a class cancellation, please see "FOUR19 DEFENSE CANCELLATION" in the "Refunds" section above.

HELPFUL LINKS: